The Potential DWI/DUI Penalties
You’ve just been charged with driving while impaired (DWI) in Minnesota. It is a frightening and humiliating time, and you may not be sure where to turn. A strong DWI defense is a must when trying to protect your driving privileges and minimize the consequences of a DWI conviction. At John A. Price III, P.A., you will receive caring and reassuring counsel backed by over 25 years of legal experience.
Is This Your First DWI Arrest?
If this is your first DWI, you may be worried about fines, losing your license or having your insurance rates go up. These are all valid concerns. Attorney John Price will fight to get you the lowest penalties possible.
We know you are not a hardened criminal. We understand the DWI (also known in Minnesota as driving under the influence or DUI) legal process and will put that knowledge to work via a proactive defense. Our solutions-based strategy may be able to reduce charges to careless driving and challenge a license revocation.
Minnesota DWI Penalties
There are two types of penalties you will likely face if arrested for DWI/DUI. The criminal penalty can be a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or even felony if you have multiple prior DWIs. The administrative penalties can range from having your license suspended for 90 days to permanent revocation and vehicle forfeiture.
Criminal penalties for DWI include:
- Fourth-degree DWI – Misdemeanor charge with up to 90 days in jail and/or fine of $1,000.
- Third-degree DWI – Gross misdemeanor charge with up to one year in jail and/or fine of $3,000.
- Second-degree DWI – Gross misdemeanor charge with up to one year in jail and a $3,000 fine.
- First-degree DWI – Felony comprised of four DWI violations within 10 years. Up to seven years in prison and a $14,000 fine.
- Refusal to take the BAC test – Possible gross misdemeanor charge and up to one year in jail and/or fine of $3,000.
Administrative penalties that may apply upon conviction:
- License revocation or suspension – Your driver’s license may be surrendered upon arrest.
- Ignition interlock – You may be eligible to drive during your license suspension with an interlock device installed on your vehicles.
- License plate impoundment – Authorities may physically seize your plates.
- Vehicle confiscation – Your vehicle may be impounded and forfeited.
- Mandatory alcohol education and assessment.
- Drug and/or alcohol treatment program.
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) victim impact panel.
Prevent Your License Revocation
As soon as possible after a DWI arrest, you need to act to prevent your license from being revoked. We can help with this administrative procedure, which is separate from your criminal charges. Don’t delay, as you only have a few days to make this request.
Call Us Today For A Free Consultation
Time is crucial if you are facing a DWI or DUI charge. our lawyer will explain the specifics of drunk driving laws and evaluate your case during an initial free consultation. Call our Lakeville law office today at 612-326-0701 or contact us online today.