Know The Potential DWI/DUI Penalties In Minnesota

You've just been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). It is a frightening and humiliating time and you may not be sure where to turn. A solid DWI defense is a must when trying to protect your driving privileges and avoid jail time. At the Law Offices of Mitchell A. Robinson, P.A., you will receive caring and reassuring counsel with 30 years of diligent DWI defense experience.

Is This Your First DWI Arrest?

If this is your first DWI, you may be worried about fines, losing your license or having your insurance rates go up. These are all valid concerns. Attorney Robinson will fight to get you the lowest penalties possible.

We know you are not a hardened criminal. We understand the DWI (also known in Minnesota as driving under the influence or DUI) legal process and will put that knowledge to work via a proactive defense. Our solutions-based strategy may be able to reduce charges to careless driving and challenge a license revocation.

Degrees And Penalties For DWI/DUI Charges

There are two types of penalties you will likely face if arrested for DWI/DUI. Criminal penalties and administrative penalties. The criminal penalty can be a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or even felony for receiving additional charges within 10 years. The administrative penalties can include having your license revoked for 90 days and having your plates impounded to a forfeit of your vehicle.

Criminal penalties for DWI include:

  • Fourth-degree DWI — Misdemeanor charge with up to 90 days in jail and/or fine of $1,000.
  • Third-degree DWI — Gross misdemeanor charge with up to one year in jail and/or fine of $3,000.
  • Second-degree DWI — Gross misdemeanor charge with up to one year in jail and a $3,000 fine.
  • First-degree DWI — Felony comprised of four DWI violations within 10 years. Up to seven years in prison and a $14,000 fine.
  • Refusal to take the BAC test? Possible gross misdemeanor charge and up to one year in jail and/or fine of $3,000.

Administrative penalties that can be applied upon arrest include:

  • License revocation or suspension — Your driver's license may be revoked upon arrest. You may be eligible for an ignition interlock device to drive during your Minnesota license suspension period.
  • License plate impoundment — Authorities may physically seize your plates.
  • Vehicle confiscation — Your vehicle may be forfeited.
  • Mandatory alcohol education, assessment and treatment
  • Drug and/or alcohol treatment program attendance
  • Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) victim impact panel

Before Your License Is Revoked, Call Us For A Free Consultation

Time is crucial if you are facing a DWI or DUI charge. A lawyer at our office can explain the specifics of drunk driving laws and evaluate your case in an initial free consultation. Call our Minneapolis law office today at 612-360-2839 or contact us online today.